logo FAMU
FAMU’s puppet films to feature in a special programme as part of the prestigious ANIMAYO Festival in Spain

FAMU’s puppet films to feature in a special programme as part of the prestigious ANIMAYO Festival in Spain

ANIMAYO, the globally renowned festival held annually in Madrid, will focus on Czech animated film, specifically stop motion, this year.
As part of a special programme focusing on Czech higher educational institutions, FAMU will present eight films made by its current and former students, including Aurel Klimt, Michal Žabka, Stanislav Sekela, Bára Anna Stejskalová, Daria Kashcheeva, Martin Smatana, Filip Blažek and Andrea Szelesová.

Czech Centre Madrid in cooperation with Czech Centres in other countries and the Czech Centres’ Headquarters in Prague will offer a presentation of Czech students’ works as well as a programme titled Czech Centres – Animayo: Stop Motion Special Edition.

The programme will include several masterclasses, a discussion with stop motion animation experts, two series of short animated films and a special dedicated to Daria Kashcheeva.

We would like to draw your attention to a panel of experts who will discuss this animation technique in the Czech Republic where it has traditionally achieved unique results and often transcended the confines of art. Prominent filmmakers and critics Tereza Brdečková, Patricia Ortiz, Luca Raffaelli, Daphne Rosenthal and Tami Berenstein will take part in the roundtable discussion. You can watch the debate titled “Virtual conversations on Czech animation: benchmark country for stop motion” for free on 4 July from 1 to 3:30 pm (CET) subject to prior registration at animayo.com. The debate will be in English.

The masterclass, debate and a series of short contemporary films will be available for viewing for the next month; a series of short films by older authors (Týrlová, Švankmajer, et al.) will be available for viewing for two weeks and the Daughter special will be viewable until Monday 6 July, 6:00 pm.

Link for registration

More information on the individual programmes:



2. July 2020